restaurant – la terrasse rouge

01/06/2014

Château la Dominique, a Saint-Emilion Grand Cru Classé, benefits from its superb location in an area world heritage listed by UNESCO. Set in the middle of a one-hectare park, the château consists of a manor house, two wine storehouses perpendicular to it, the contemporary wine storehouse that was completed in 2014, and a farm building. The new storehouse was designed by Ateliers Jean Nouvel as a commission from the owner, Clément Fayat, in response to the major technical requirement of supporting the increase in the surface area of vines under production and of improving the chäteau’s wine-making tools.

Jean Nouvel designed a building of pure volumes that takes off from the existing building in hewn stone and soars out into the vineyard in a horiztonal line. But beyond his precise response to the commission for a technical building, the architect has delivered a construction that brings out the exceptional position of the domaine, on the one hand, and on the other, provides an interpretation, both personal and universal, of his vision of wine and the pleasure of wine tasting. Covered in mirror-effect stainless steel slats in six different shades of red, the storehouse plays with our perception, just as the colour of a wine does, offering variations in reflection, intensity, hue, depth… Looking at it also means looking at the vines reflected in it in fragmented images and, depending on the visitor’s position, the vineyard landscape is reflected in inverted images thanks to the progressive inclination of the steel slats.

The roof was imagined as a panoramic terrace offering the visitor a fabulous lookout over the surrounding landscape of vineyards, dotted with grand chäteaus and villages and more. The terrace is covered in red glass gravel, like a mass of symbolic grapes the visitor can tread. It is partly covered and harbours a panoramic restaurant forming a gazebo, the only one of its kind in the Bordeaux wine-growing area. La Terrasse Rouge is open all year round.

Glazed on three sides and opening onto the terrace, with its red glass gravel, the restaurant is an invitation to conviviality and pleasure. It is entirely fitted-out with Essence tables, made of solid wood of different essences, designed by Jean Nouvel Design and crafted by Eric Rouchon, a cabinet-maker based in Sarlat.

Last news

Happy New Year 2017 !

FIAC Hors les murs

Flammarion – les arts decoratifs

Molteni / unifor Flagshipstore

restaurant – la terrasse rouge

06/01/2014

Château la Dominique, Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Emilion profite d’une excellente situation dans la zone de l’inscription au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO. Implanté au cœur d’un parc de 1 ha le château est constitué d’une maison de maître, de deux chais perpendiculaires, d’un chai à l’architecture contemporaine achevé en 2014 et d’un bâtiment agricole. Il s’agit d’une commande faite par le propriétaire Clément Fayat aux Ateliers Jean Nouvel afin de répondre à un besoin technique majeur: accompagner l’accroissement de la surface de production viticole et perfectionner les outils de vinification.

Jean Nouvel a imaginé un bâtiment aux volumes purs, prenant appui sur le bâti en pierre de taille et s’élançant d’un trait horizontal dans le vignoble. Au-delà de la réponse précise à la commande d’un bâtiment technique, l’architecte propose un ouvrage mettant en lumière la position exceptionnelle du domaine d’une part, et donne l’interprétation à la fois personnelle et universelle de sa vision du vin et du plaisir de la dégustation. Habillé de lames d’inox rouge à l’effet miroir et de six nuances différentes, le chai joue avec notre perception comme la robe d’un vin: reflet, intensité, nuances, profondeur, etc. Le regarder c’est aussi regarder la vigne qui s’y reflète en image défragmentée, et selon la position du visiteur, le paysage viticole est réfléchi dans une image inversée grâce au positionnement incliné des lames d’acier.

Le toit a été imaginé comme une terrasse panoramique offrant au visiteur un point de vue fabuleux sur les paysages viticoles alentours, parsemés de grands châteaux, de villages, etc. La terrasse est couverte de galets de verre rouge, comme une multitude de raisins symboliques que le visiteur peut fouler. Une partie est couverte et abrite un restaurant panoramique formant un belvédère unique dans le vignoble bordelais : La Terrasse Rouge,restaurant ouvert toute l’année.

Vitré sur trois faces, ouvert sur la terrasse de graviers de verre rouge, le restaurant  invite à la convivialité et au plaisir. Il est entièrement organisé à partir des tables Essence, tables de bois massifs de différentes essences, conçues par Jean Nouvel Design, et éditées par Eric Rouchon, ébéniste à Sarlat.

Dernières actualités

Exposition Objets, mes amis – artmonte-carlo

Meilleurs voeux 2017 !

FIAC Hors les murs

Flammarion – les arts decoratifs